02.08.2002 4:40 am
i love my brother, dean, with all my soul... and surely with even more love than this soul could possiby contain ~ he must draw love through me from the ether...

i got to spend some amazing time with him tonight...

i came over and showed him my new photographs. he sat me down and played me the new records he'd bought...

listening to music with my brother is one of my most cherished moments in life ~ gleaming memories i'll always keep dear. he plays his records on his turntables, turning to me frequently in his exuberance, filling me in on background information about the song's producer, describing his favorite elements of it. "just one more tune!" turns into five... turns into twenty... and we joyously bob our heads and attempt to form words around what we hear and the visions conjured in our heads.

tonight we stayed with the records for even longer than usual... and then we went for a walk around our neighborhood. reminded me of when we were in our early teens... walks late at night, sharing cigarettes and trying to keep our voices low as we babble on passionately...

conversation was particularly purposeful in that dj had a lot on his mind to sort out and he needed to vent it, needed a bit of advice. it was something i'd experienced before myself so i was really glad i could give him some really specific assistance...

we talked about his girlfriend, we talked about love...

talked about abstract things (as we seem to enjoy so much) ~ time and circles and creation and infinity and the moment and such...

talked about inspiration and drive and purpose...

...and we made plans. he and i are going to stick together. we've got all the music equipment we need and are just going to get it up and running and start rolling things out...

it's what's right, i'm quite certain!

dj and i a few months ago, on a plane going to australia

<< priori - posteriori >>