02.08.2002 6:23 am
i've been really wanting to make a scrapbook of my london adventure, and these photos i got today have inspired me to get it done. it wasn't too long ago, and i want to capture those lovely memories...

here is a little something i wrote in my notebook one morning while i was there:

i awoke to the chimes of st. paul's cathedral. laying in my bed listening to the bell sounds resonate agains the surrounding old stone buildings, i became enchanted by the long strings of seemingly random, overlapping tones. tiptoeing over to one of the round portal windows in the room, i confirmed my suspicion that today would be another gray, drizzling, dreary deliciousness... i got ready, donning my cozy black coat and grabbing my large satchel of books + umbrella as i walked out the door.

the light of the pale gray sky filtered into the alleyway outside my door, illuminating the mist-like rain floating down. as i walked out towards the main street, i could see people's indifference to the wet as evidenced by the absence of umbrellas. meandering my way through traffic and the identical Bank St. trenchcoated businessmen and their sidelong glances, i headed toward "Costa" for my morning coffee.

i listened to music using headphones and a CD player inside my bag, Johnny L's alien jungle beats were my soundtrack as i walked past the cathedral, the Bank tube station, and along the shop-lined street into the shop. after i ordered a hazlenut latte, i settled into a chair near the front windows. lighting up a cigarette, i pleasured in the calming hot drink and smooth smoke ~ just being able to relax and take in the aromas and sounds of the café ˇs i stared out at the intensifying rain i would be re-entering...

my youth-hostel and the alleyway:

detail above one of the windows:

...and turning the corner:

st. paul's cathedral - a hop, skip, and a jump away:

a statue in front:

fountains nearby:

a shield with a sad boy angel above:

this one tower i saw.. heh:

westminster abbey:

<< priori - posteriori >>