04.19.2002 2:19 pm
WOW!

ok, i just got back from my local Longs Drugstore. i was purchasing a bunch of various bits and bobs for my trip. when the cashier (a girl around my age) rung me up, we had a conversation that went something like this:

after bagging all my stuff, she asked, "are you going on vacation or something?"

"yeah, i'm actually going to europe for a couple months," i replied.

"really? me too - i'm leaving in 6 days!"

"whoa! me too - thursday! where are you going?"

"italy, but i'm in paris first and i'm also going to london..."

"ME TOO! yeah, i'm going to be in paris for the first 4 days."

"WOW! me too!"

...and at this point we are both tripping out and getting the details on whereabouts we're staying and such. but then it gets even trippier...

i heard someone call her "michelle"

"my name is michelle, too!" i exclaimed, laughing in amazement...

"no way! wow!" she exclaimed, going on to tell me more of the specifics on her timetable. "yeah, see i'm going to be there for my birthday..."

"wait, when is your birthday?" i asked.

"may 23rd"

"HAHAHA! mine is may 22nd! what time were you born?"

"5am"

"yup, i was 5:25am!"

"oh my god, this is so weird"

"yeah, this is crazy..."

"ok, so when are you coming back?"

"well, i'm scheduled to leave on June 30th because i've got summer school starting here on July 1st"

"yeah, me too - i have to be back for summer school.... wait, what school do you go to?"

"DeAnza"

"ME TOO!"

"insanity! ...yeah, i don't know, though... i have a feeling i'm going to want to just stay there and blow off summer school"

"ha - me too. $25 to change the ticket..."

"exactly!"

we continued to giggle in wide-eyed astonishment and comment on how strange this was... and then we exchanged e-mail addresses. she's got family in germany. i've got friends in london. we could meet up, give each other places to stay, etc.

serendipity! coincidence!

and i swear, this sort of shit happens to me all the time. but now... more! intense.

i'm so glad i just went to Longs...

<< priori - posteriori >>